Using Subsystems for a "GridManager" class?

Hey there, I’m new to Unreal and C++ so sorry if my question is unusual or just stupid.
I’m working on a Game which has several Grids (c++). The grid class is a C++ class based on the Actor class.

I just started that project so I thought just to create a Singleton GridManager class which can return the Grid I’m looking for by ID but then I stumbled uppon the Subsystems, I read that It has some advantages compared to Singletons so i wanted to give them a try.
I created a Subsystem based on UGameInstanceSubsystem.

Now I’d like to create instances of my Grid class in my Subsystem::Initialize() but since I cannot create a Blueprint class from my Subsystem I’m unable to assign a Grid class to it to spawn that grid right? My Grid class has several TSubclassOf<> references which need to be assigned.

Is there a way to solve this? Or is a subsystem not meant to do such things and should not / can not such World Object related things?

Thanks a lot in advance!
Cxyda

If you’re interested spawning actors from your subsystem, you probably want a UWorldSubsystem instead. There’s also a ULocalPlayerSubsystem if you need a “singleton” per player.

Another alternative is a component attached to your game mode or game state. It depends on how you need to access it, if at all.

Hey MegForceSeven,
Thanks for the fast answer! Yes indeed a UWorldSubsystem would make sense. I’m not planning to have a multiplayer game so it should not make much of a difference between ULocalPlayerSubsystem and UWorldSubsystem right?

But the main question stays, how would I get the reference to the Actor class (Blueprint) I’d like to spawn via GetWorld()->SpawnActor<T> since I can’t assign it straight from the Unreal Editor right? :thinking:

Yeah, that’s true. It would really only affect where you have to look to get the instance of your subsystem, either getting a world or the local player.

There are a few options that would work for this: