Using alpha channel for paper 2d sprite...?

Hey so what I’m trying to do is make it so my character sprite can have a chosen color of headband. So i’ve made a black and white alpha channel of each texture frame of my character and put it on ue4 as targa files.

Please can someone explain to me what I do now because I’ve messed around with sprite materials to try and get a material instance where I can set the color of the alpha channel but I’m very new to materials in ue4 still and i’m so confused.

I’ve spent days trying to figure this out so any help is much appreciated, thank you! :slight_smile:

I’m confused about this part… Did make the alpha channel part of your original textures, or did you create a new set of textures that is black and white?

1 Like

I got my original textures on photoshop and added an alpha channel layer with the white being the headband and the black being everything else, then I saved all of these frames as targa files and imported them back into ue4

@ I hope this makes it clearer for you so you can help me

Sorry for the late response… I wasn’t ignoring you, I’m just not on these forums 24/7. :sleeping:

My guess is that this is your character (based on previous posts):

https://d3kjluh73b9h9o.cloudfront.net/uploads/default/original/3X/4/0/403c21e39ee3d212a5111629903b2e0a5c85fcee.jpeg

My concern is that you were already using the alpha channel for transparency/masking your sprite. Am I correct in that assumption? In that case, then by overwriting the alpha channel to mask the color, you would have lost the transparency data.

1 Like

Thats correct that is the character :slight_smile:

Im sorry but I don’t fully understand what you mean, but I think this may be the case. Each sprite is using the MaskedUnlitSpriteMaterial instance which uses the DefaultSpriteMaterial which I think does use the alpha channel for something, here is an image of the DefaultSpriteMaterial: