Unreal Engine 4 Vs UDK people's opinions

(is probably an old topic but here we go anyway.)

I have been using and learning from UDK for at least three years now. Next gen consoles are already here and good triple A graphics are now a requirement. Eventually UDK will be Obsolete within a few years at best. Now Epic recommending us to give Unreal Engine 4 a try instead of UDK. Followed by the Subscription fee which I personally do not want to do. Since then I switched to the new Cryengine for a few months and enjoyed it.
That was until the recent subscription fee and no more updates for the free SDK. After that, I pretty much went to Unity3D which I personally hated it. Since then, I pretty much gave up on Indie development do and now focused on my girlfriend whom I neglected for quite awhile. I just wonder why the big game engine creators need to charge subscription fees for independent indie teams to make games. I’m not saying to get rid of subscription fees in anyway or that I plan to boycott against it.
It’s just to me subscription equals constant use of the product your paying daily to get your money’s worth out of it. Also, if I do subscribe to Unreal Engine 4, my ideas of a game to be will take too long of time and I will be in debt by or something else such as obvious credit card debts which will force me to cancel my subscription to UE4 making it a complete waste of my time and money. However, is not a problem for UDK. But it will soon be obsolete. As being a discussion page, I want to know. Was the subscription to Unreal Engine 4worth your time? Or the inevitable money problems are getting to you and is not worth it? Let me know and thank you for listening if you did.

$20 is very cheap, even if you continue on subscription it’s just a little bit more than an MMO subscription.

In any case, you can cancel after a month and continue to use the version you have, unlike Cryengine.