Unexplained Lightmap and Material Errors

I’ve decided to use UE4 for rendering shots recently, so I’m very new at this, and am likely to be making some dumb mistakes here.

My first problem stems from an error with my lightmaps. I get this blotch of shadow that I can’t explain, and whether I use UE4’s generated lightmap UVs, or try my own, it’ll still show up. I tried to use Blender’s lightmap unwrap that automatically breaks down the model to its individual faces, but that only seemed to make things worse. To give you an idea of what I’m talking about, here’s a couple of pictures, before light baking, and after. In general, baking makes all my models look a bit blotchy and bruised, but the vending machine is the worst of the bunch.

](filedata/fetch?id=1811057&d=1599970470)

](filedata/fetch?id=1811058&d=1599970480)

It’s there at the bottom right of the white door.

My second problem that the metals in my materials are way overblown. They look fine in Substance Painter and Blender Eevee, but come out WAY too chrome in UE4. I’m using the generic metallic-roughness setup, with individual textures for each input.

What exactly is going on here? What can I do to fix it?

Could be a myriad of things, from flipped normals to bad UVs.

To unwrap for light you should really keep the whole face together. So you would have 4 panels and 2 tops. Like if it were a regular box.

All the separate pieces and parts should be exploded with that in mind when you cut the UV.
The more uniform and flat the UV is, the better the light bakes on…

Another issue could be your normal map. Or the vertex normals of the object if they have been manipulated in any way.

It takes time, patience, and 20 or so unwraps to get it right.

Also, the fact that any 3d program shows it fine means nothing. They work at a much higher precision than the engine so you can never expect identical results (but it is nice when you get them).