UEFN: Adding Animated Character Skins: Encouraged or Piracy?

I’m just getting started with UEFN, and decided to get a lay of the land by checking out what the most popular UEFN experiences are.

I’ve noticed that some of the popular UEFN islands use thumbnails of popular creators, such {3451-3711-0789}, which is a “Boss Battle” map where you fight a giant version of Mr Beast, who is also featured prominently in the map’s thumbnail.

Using thumbnails of popular content creators looks like an interesting way to get people to check out your map, so I decided to look into how I would add, for example, the Mr Beast fortnite skin into one of my maps, and possibly add custom animation to him.

In my research, I noticed some things:

1. There doesn’t seem to be any way to animate regular UEFN characters. If you want to make your own animation, you need to import them as a skeletal mesh
  2. Most fortnite characters, including Mr Beast, are not available in the UEFN editor UI as characters you can pick from
  3. There is a Character Spawner Device, which allows you to specify Fortnite Skins, and if you know the direct asset path for a fortnite character, you can paste that asset path in to load them, even if they aren’t exposed in the UEFN UI. The UEFN UI for this device currently only shows a mannequin mesh as an available option.
  4. If you use the workaround in #3, to specify a character asset other than the Mannequin, your map will be blocked at upload time, informing you that you have used some disallowed assets

All of this tell me that UEFN is not set up to allow people to use arbitrary character skins in their maps, and that there is actually some protection in place to prevent people from using them. It appears that people who have maps that include these skins, have downloaded them from third party sites as raw meshes, and then re-rigged and re-imported them.