UE5 Source radius not affecting shadows

I’m a beginner in unreal engine 5 … Light tutorials say that i can make shadows soft bu changing source radius
But when i increase source radius i get no change and shadows still sharp

Anyone can help ?!

3 Likes

same question.

1 Like

same question… watched lots of tutorials, everyone seems to be getting Soft shadows right off the bat with the Rect Light, but i keep getting jagged harsh shadows…
Adjusting Source Radius for point light doesn’t work either
Any tips will be gladly appreciated!

I had the same question. I believe the solution is to toggle on the “Distance Field Shadows” property of your light actor. Unsure if this fully resolves the issue, but it seems to be working so far. Maybe someone else can confirm.

1 Like

Hello!

If I understand correctly, you want to make the shadows edges softer, in order to make that happen is necessary to increase the value of the “Source Radius”

Here is an example of a shadow with the Source Radius at value 0

if you increase the value of the “Source Radius” the shadow edges will blur out, here is the same light with the value increased

is important that if you have multiple light sources with “cast shadows” change the source radius of all of them, or make so just one light cast shadows on the objetct in order to make the shadow softer at the edges

Hope this helps!

I’m a beginner too, watching Lighting in Unreal Engine 5 for Beginners by Willliam Faucher on YouTube.

I have found two settings that makes large Source Radius produce soft shadows.

The first I got from JediahSol above, which is to enable Distance Field Shadows on the Light and also Generate Mesh Distance Field in the Project Settings.

The second way is to set Project Settings > Shadow Map Method to Virtual Shadow Maps. This is the type of shadow produced from lights that don’t have Distance Field Shadows enabled.