UE5 mirror material is blurry

Hello, i’m new to UE5, and so I was trying to create a mirror, based on tutorials (watched at least 6 of them telling the same thing) it did work for them, doesn’t for me. The picture taken is from the very basic Third person world, only made the mirror. In the mirror the third person mannequin can’t be seen either. Also get a crash 10 out of 10 times when try to build all levels but thats for another question.

1 Like

The mirror itself doesn’t actually (necessarily) capture the scene around it, something else needs to do that. There are three ways to do this:

1. Place a Sphere Reflection Capture right in front/center of the mirrror.
  2. Place a Planar Reflection right in the plane of the mirror.
  3. Turn on ray tracing.

If you already have a sphere capture, then turning up the resolution in settings will make the quality better. (There’s some cost associated of course.)

Hello, thank you for your answer, but the problem is still present. I tried all three methods and all of them looked exactly the same, as if they didn’t even change on it. I am a new user so for some reason i can only add 1 picture per post, so here is with planar reflection enabled and placed in front of the mirror. If I look at the mirror from the very side of it, it is more clear than from the front but still not good either.

ray tracing is on, resolution is on epic, tried sphere reflection capture as well, looked exactly like with planar.

Have you tried playing with the reflection settings in your post-process volume? There are lots of different options in there

As far as I know you cannot get high quality mirror reflections with Lumen. You can get much better quality reflections if you enable hardware raytracing with Lumen, but you can’t get high quality mirror reflections.