[UE5] Compiling Shaders On Every Startup

Hey! I started learning UE5 last week just before the release the other day (I’ve since updated to the latest version). Since starting I’ve noticed it says “compiling shaders”. I tried to look into this more but most of the information is for UE4 and didn’t work for me on UE5. I know this has been asked a lot before, but like I said most information is for UE4.

From what I understand it’s only supposed to do this once (or after a big project change) and store it in some sort of cache so next time it’s a lot quicker? For me, it compiles it every time I launch the same, basic project with no changes and it takes roughly 30 minutes to compile sometimes over 8,000 shaders. Then sometimes does it again when the editor has actually opened. This is very annoying as I have to plan when I want to be creative and can’t do much else with my computer in the meantime.

I haven’t got the most high-end computer possible but seems fine running UE5 after the shaders have finished compiling. I understand it’s probably important for UE5 to function fully but surely you shouldn’t have to plan an hour before every time you want to use UE5?

This software looks awesome and I really can’t wait to use it properly, but at the moment it just feels very discouraging to use and I really don’t want this to put me, or others, off learning it because of this.

11 Likes

I’m also having this problem. What’s worse, is that the actual compilation is moving at a snail’s pace (much more than an hour for me). I have a 12-core 24-thread processor but the editor is only using 5-6% of my CPU to compile the shaders. Really hoping someone has a fix for this.

2 Likes

This might help (994) Compiling Shaders Unreal Engine 5 start up issue FIX FOR MAC IOS - YouTube

The same solution is also mentioned here UE4 "Compiling Shaders" is super slow - Real Time VFX