Download

UE5 5.0 branch build error - Chaos

I’m trying to build UE5 from the 5.0 branch using VS2022 Current. I’ve compiled it before with no errors shortly after the branch was created, but now I get stuck with the following problem.

Running GenerateProjectFiles.bat spits out the following error, which fails to find something for Chaos in a non-existent “\Restricted\NotForLicensees” folder. If I go ahead and try to build anyway, it fails.

Anyone encountered this, or have any advice on a work-around? I’m pretty new to building Unreal from source and this is out of my depth.

Thanks!

Binding IntelliSense data...
WARNING: Exception while generating include data for HeadlessChaos: Unable to instantiate module 'HeadlessChaos': System.IO.DirectoryNotFoundException: Could not find a part of the path 'C:\Users\username\Documents\GitHub\UnrealEngine\Engine\Restricted\NotForLicensees\Build'.
     at System.IO.Enumeration.FileSystemEnumerator`1.CreateDirectoryHandle(String path, Boolean ignoreNotFound)
     at System.IO.Enumeration.FileSystemEnumerator`1.Init()
     at System.IO.Enumeration.FileSystemEnumerable`1..ctor(String directory, FindTransform transform, EnumerationOptions options, Boolean isNormalized)
     at System.IO.Enumeration.FileSystemEnumerableFactory.UserEntries(String directory, String expression, EnumerationOptions options)
     at System.IO.Directory.InternalEnumeratePaths(String path, String searchPattern, SearchTarget searchTarget, EnumerationOptions options)
     at System.IO.Directory.GetFileSystemEntries(String path)
     at LowLevelTests.UpdateBuildGraphPropertiesFile() in C:\Users\username\Documents\GitHub\UnrealEngine\Engine\Source\Programs\LowLevelTests\LowLevelTests.Build.cs:line 90
     at LowLevelTests..ctor(ReadOnlyTargetRules Target) in C:\Users\username\Documents\GitHub\UnrealEngine\Engine\Source\Programs\LowLevelTests\LowLevelTests.Build.cs:line 67