UE4Editor constantly crashes and freezes using Linux

Hello everyone,

I’m new to UE4 and recently built the release version of the UE4Engine from git hub. I’m running linux (Studio Ubuntu).
The installation worked fine, but the Editor constantly crashes and freezes my laptop.

Some problems are:

• Most of the time it randomly freezes. Just rarely it crashes.

• A reproducible trigger for a freezing event is: I try to draw a texture in the texture paint mode and as soon as I click into the scene it freezes.

• I am not able to exit the program, as it always freezes when trying to exiting

As it mostly freezes and I have to forcefully kill my PC I don’t have a crash report (I guess).

Does anybody know a stable version for linux? Or does anybod have similar problems? Or does anybody know how I could get more information about why it freezes?

Best,

1 Like

Hello,
It also happened to me on Ubuntu 18.04 (from github release, v4.23.1) running UE4 Editor freezes completly my laptop (brand new laptop, so probably not coming from the hardware), either on starting UE4Editor or loading a project. If anyone knows about this I am interested also,

My hardware : CPU: GenuineIntel ‘Intel(R) Core™ i7-10510U CPU @ 1.80GHz’ (signature: 0x806EC)
Thanks,
Pacome

I experience a periodicly freeze every 3 to 5 seconds since 4.23 to 4.24. origin/4.22.3-release runs fine without this freeze. I am on Manjaro, Intel i7 with Gforce GTX 1070 Ti and latest nvidia driver 440.31

Hi Everyone.

I tried both the latest stable and 4.24 bot got no success.

I followed the guide, how to compile it on my Linux (Ubuntu 19.04), everything went smooth. Then when I start the engine, after a while (not immediately) I got this error:

Fatal error: [File:/home/mudlee/Applications/UnrealEngine/Engine/Source/Runtime/VulkanRHI/Private/VulkanMemory.cpp] [Line: 279] Out of Device Memory, Requested=2960.00Kb MemTypeIndex=7 << callstack too long >>