UE4 Make GAME advice for "NOOBS"!

Hello Folks!..
I am still new to UE4 and game making and like any beginner, like to know of any good advice on making games!..

Soo please tell what is the golden rules of game makinng???..

Or any other good advice on the subject! Like where to start in doing a game? “imagine I am clueless!!!” :slight_smile:

And do and dont do that!?

Thanks! Looking foward to know meny of the problems that Pros and folks had and how to overcome them! :slight_smile:

-When you start with game development, always start on a low level, dont start with a really big game like an open world :slight_smile:
-always keep everything clean/use a good folder structure

I don’t remember the exact percent’s but good game dev do not start with assets or code/blueprint. It was something like 70% of your time should be on paper. Then the last 30% is actually making the game into beta stages. Its said if you find your self starring and a blinking curser thinking what do I do next… you need to go back to the first part.

The pen and paper stage you think of all the ideas and run though them … almost like make a mock up board game and think how the flow should work … basic story ect. Then write down things you want to include like main charter / bosses / game systems like skill trees / different levels all that stuff… once you have a better idea of what you want in your game then start getting assets and making the game

Doing that will save you tons of time and possibly money if your paying people or buying assets. Maybe you will realize a boss or system just wont be good in your game after you do a mock play through on paper.

And adding on to what said. Doing what I said will help you realize the scope of what you want to make… how big the project is … and knowing a basic layout of what you want / need from the start will help keep the project well structured