Type Object design pattern

I’m just starting out with this pattern, inspired by Type Object · Behavioral Patterns · Game Programming Patterns
Was hoping to get feedback or hear from someone who has used it, or if someone else is interested in learning it…

I will go over:

• learning basics
  • design method I don’t agree with.
  • what I am going with.
  • Current setup
  • Vision for an item system.

Basics

I’m starting pretty simple:
Some data for what “breed” a character is. For now it’s just Breed <- Shape <- Cube / Sphere / Cone etc.
Each shape will have different values. Maybe I will go more specific like Cube will have a ravenous Cube or smelly Cube.

Design that doesn’t really help?

Something I reacted to is, the author writes a bit about having to adjust the health of dozens of classes which is tedious.

Then there’s examples of how Health is retrieved as well as set in some classes:

int Breed::getHealth()
{   // Override.   if (health_ != 0 || parent_ == NULL) return health_;  
 // Inherit.   return parent_->getHealth();
} 
  {  
"Troll": {    
"health": 25,    
"attack": "The troll hits you!"  
},  
"Troll Archer": {    
"parent": "Troll",    
"health": 0,    
"attack": "The troll archer fires an arrow!"   },
  "Troll Wizard": {    
"parent": "Troll",    
"health": 0,    
"attack": "The troll wizard casts a spell on you!"  
}
} 

So - if I have understood this logic - Getting the Troll Archer Health will return 25, because it is set to 0. But that’s not tuning dozens of characters. That would be the Troll archer having 26 health and the Troll Wizard 24 health. Now again, if those values are to be adjusted, you still have to adjust dozens of classes.
So I don’t agree with how static the values are set.

What I am going with

It will be similar but I will have the properties be associated with a level. (though that could be applied to the authors method too).