Trying to implement LIDAR / Point Cloud graphic features, new to UE4 and game engines

EDIT (7/15/15): Need help rendering efficiently. Latest progress:

Let me preface this by saying I’m a complete novice at UE4, working on game engines, and creating 3D graphics, but I do have a bunch of other programming experience that has been super helpful in learning UE4.

That said, I’m trying to make a graphical effect similar to this:

I can accomplish this so far:

In my First Person Character Event Graph, I’m doing a Line Trace By Channel over 2 for-loops to create the spherical projection (91,648 total points). If something is hit, I do Draw Debug Point at that location and change the color as a function of time of impact.

When I do the full projection, the game freezes to do the traces. My understanding is that this occurs because the Line Trace is an expensive process. Consequently, after the projection is completed, the frame rate plummets to an unplayable state.

Is there a better way to achieve this effect? Is there a way to better optimize what I have?

Thanks in advance!

I feel like there’d be a way to do this using postprocess materials. Just use SceneDepth to get the depth value of the pixel; it’s not a 1:1 correlation with the Time value of the trace but it DOES report absolute distance of the pixel from the screen. You can use the depth value to color the pixel and discard/blacken any pixels too far away.

The tricky part (at least for me) would be discarding and merging pixels to reduce the resolution from 1:1 pixel mapping to something low-res. It’d probably be possible with the Screen Size setting in a post-process volume; simply Set that to 25, apply the postprocess material that maps depth to color, and you’d be very close.

So if you need to do it from just a first person perspective, then this is pretty easily done in the post process with the depth buffer as Rhythm says above.