Tried to bring a UE4.27 project into UE5.0 and now all my includes fail

Hi - I had a working UE4.27 VR project (with C++) that I wanted to try out in UE5.0, so I started up UE5.0(.3) and opened my UE4.27(.1) project and the new migrated project fails to compile - looks like the include path or something is just broken.

I’m pretty new to Visual Studio so this might be something really obvious, but, any ideas?

Every single include, from all the .cpp files as well as the .h files are failing - including my own headers as well as the basic unreal stuff (Math/UnrealMathUtility.h, CoreMinimal.h, Kismet/BlueprintFunctionLibrary.h, etc.)

includesfail2
includesfail3

maybe you are lucky and just need to wait for some time. Visual Studio is doing some stuff behind scenes. Left down corner spinning circle, click on that and see if its doing something. it takes a couple of minute to figure out all the engine files and how they are related. Then all the errors will start to vanish

Unfortunately, no.

I’ve also tried to clean the build, remove the .vs and Intermediate folders and have unreal engine rebuild the VS project files. Still no go. Kind of weird!

A little more sleuthing around:

I made a brand new UE5 VR starter project and started comparing the differences between it and my migrated UE4.27->UE5 project, and noticed that the solution’s ‘Include Directories’ (as found in the window (in visual studio) brought up by right clicking on the project in the Solution Explorer → Properties → Configuration Properties → VC++ Directories → General → Include Directories), e.g. here:

is significantly different between the two projects. In my migrated project, the include directories list is tiny:

UE427to5IncludeDirectories

whereas in my brand new UE5 starter project, the include directories list is massive: