Translucent materials. is there a ETA for getting this sorted out? or....

Ok situation with translucent material is really starting to get annoying. Why are there so many bugs with ? why can the reflections from eh reflections buffer just be comped onto a refractive surface just like any other material? there are so many other little annoyances but the reflections seems to be the most annoying one. and for the life of me I cannot understand why it isn’t the easiest to fix. Granted I’m not a C++ programmer But I’m a 3D artist with about 15 years experience in rendering and compositing. Which for the most part is what UE4 does in its rendering. So again why can’t reflections be put on refractive materials? they should be no different than any other material. Can someone please explain to me why is taking so long to overcome.

Second is there an ETA to over coming ? I mean please level us on . is something that is gonna be DX 12 only? is that what we are waiting on? is it gonna be a month? 6 months? a year? But seriously for month I have seen nothing but “Its a problem with the engine right now” Ok what is the exact problem and what is the ETA for getting it fixed? do you know how to fix it? I really like working with Unreal but I keep hitting stupid and it is getting very old quickly

What kind of a problem are you having with refracting reflective translucent materials? Recently i’ve been playing around with kind of thing and i’ve found out that it helps to use a mask to get the best of refractions. Here you can see my results:

Hey ,

It all comes down to the type of rendering solution currently implemented (deferred), to get high quality translucent materials we need a forward rendering solution, which is being worked on, as well as planar reflections for translucent surfaces.

thread has more details on , it is a I am really looking forward to as well. :slight_smile: