The best way to make trees

Hey there,

I’m quite new to modelling and UE4.

I want to make a forest for my test project and for that, I need trees (you don’t say).

I created a tree without leafes and imported it. The seperate leafes were added to the tree mesh using the foliage tool from UE4.

Unfortunetaly, this is really buggy. Duplicated sometimes have their leafes 10m above, rotating and moving is nearly impossible because of bugged leaves. Also, the performance is bad with many tree-models.

So my question: What is the best way to create and add trees?

Looking forward answers!

Best option really is to just use Speedtree, it’s much faster and has advanced features

Speedtree while no doubt fantastic as I’m sure a lot of idies and others use it, isn’t free and prob. out of range for most of us.

Having said that, and unless I missed something, you can go here ( I just found it by researching this topic to verify ) :

I have no idea, yet, as to the 'quality ’ of this clearly generous free product, but if its not workable , you can always try something like this:

THis one is newer: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xmQlcAcLOaU

Experimentation is needed as free or not either way, I’m not sure how much flexibility either product offers, but GL!

I"ll be needing trees , as of now myself so good luck to both of us :slight_smile:

Cheers
lee

Hey and thanks for your answers :slight_smile:

Yes, Speedtree actually is out of range. And I don’t want to get used to a trial that I cannot use if I want to go professional someday.

I’ve at least some modelling experience and even if I don’t like blender, I use it often to convert models. What really interests me: How should I handle in UE 4. Should I just model a stump with some branches, and then add the leafes using the foliage tool? Should I create the complete model including textures, etc. in a 3D-Program? Should the leafes be 3D or should I use 2D-Textures?