Terrain database and rendering...

I’m fairly new to C++, I took a complete course on C++, so I say I have an intermediate skill level, but I’m still learning about best practices and how to apply my skills.

I’m working on building a game where you can edit the terrain. I’d like to be able to add/remove ground, I’d also like to store values for each “block” of terrain, such as integrity of the block. I keep thinking of this in terms of voxels, but I’m open to other ideas as well, so long as they allow me to include the above mentioned features. I want to add and remove blocks of terrain, but I want them to be smoother than say Minecraft. I’d like them to be able to smooth out into nice hills. I’m also thinking about cpu and gpu costs, I’d like to only render the top layer, but keep track of what’s beneath and render the appropriate terrain as its revealed. Would I need a database to store all of the terrain info on and have the game pull the top layer of that off for rendering? I’d like to have environmental effects that impact the top layer and layers beneath it, so I assumed I’d probably need that to be simulated on the database and then just reflect it graphically in the game world.