swarm installation

I have not been able to get Swarm working on multiple machines on my network.

Is there any kind of installation guide which explains step by step how to set it up?

The UE3 documentation is probably your best bet right now https://udn.epicgames.com/Three/Swarm.html, here https://iamsparky.wordpress.com/2010/08/24/tutorial-setting-up-swarm-for-multiple-machines/

when I double click the SwarmAgent.exe, no window opens. I can see it running in the task manager, but only as a bg process.

SwarmCoordinator.exe does open a window, but does not offer any setup functionality that I can see.

Any clues?

You mean that you cannot open up SwarmAgent window clicking on the icon in the task bar?

I have been double clicking C:\Program Files\Epic Games\4.7\Engine\Binaries\DotNET\SwarmAgent.exe. Is this not correct?

I am VERY new to Unreal (and very new to game engines in general) I am not even sure what the task bar is. Is this in the editor or the Launcher?

Colin

I don’t see a SwarmAgent icon in my task bar in the Editor.

I don’t see a SwarmAgent icon in my task bar in the Editor.

Hi collinegreen,

If you **build lighting **or cook/packaging , you will see new icon in the task bar :

Double click on task bar button to open SwarmAgent windows

have a great day

I don’t get this icon in the windows task bar when I Build. (I am on windows 8.)

Alright. TBH I’ve never run SwarmAgent.exe on Windows 8. I’ll verify it and get back to you.

I can confirm it that it runs on my Win8 config.

Is the Win8 machine your working machine or remote builder? On which machine are you unable to run SwarmAgent.exe (you can’t see icon in the tray)?

If on remote machine, then have you copied every dll needed for SwarmAgent.exe to work correctly? I.e. AgentInterface.dll, SwarmCommonUtils.dll, SwarmCoordinatorInterface.dll, SwarmInterface.dll and UnrealControls.dll.