Substance Painter Help

Hello everyone! is my first post.

I’ve had UE4 for about a month now and have been having tons of fun with it. I have never done any modeling, programming, texturing, etc. before so I am a bit of a noob when it comes to all of . I’ve learned how to blueprint and make models in blender but I’ve hit my next road block and was wondering if someone would be nice enough to help me out.

I just bought an indie license to Substance Painter today. I imported a simple box that I am hoping to use as a mesh for a wall spline. I made a test and drew some things on it with their example mats. I then imported the maps into UE4 and made a new material. The diffuse map seems to be working fine as the mesh is painted the same as it is in SP. The problem I have been having is that in the metallic and roughness maps, they don’t seem to work in the 3d view window when I apply them to the mesh. Everything is matte. They show up fine in the preview window of the material editor but not when I apply it to the mesh, or any surface for that matter. That is the main problem that I am having atm.

Another question is should I get the substance designer? I have a subscription to gametextures.com for PBR mats. I thought I could just drag and drop these into the painter but it seems to not be that easy(unless I’m missing something) as there seems to be no place to hook up all the maps like I can do in UE4, mainly the normal map. Any help or comments would be greatly appreciated.

Also I wasn’t sure if was the proper place to post question. If its not please feel free to let me know.

Thanks

Perhaps the roughness just needs to be inverted, some material shaders have that value as glossiness where 1.0 is the highest level of glossiness, roughness is the opposite.