Stutter when taskbar set auto-hide is on

Hello, I’m new in Unreal Engine and just downloaded 5.0.3 and 5.1 this week, but i’m have the following issue:

Issue: The editor is stuttering/laging when i click any menu with dropdown, it just ocurre when the editor is maximaxed and auto-hide of taskbar from windows is enabled

Note 1: Turning off auto-hide of taskbar solve the problem but it’s a nuisance
Note 2: no warning or error in editor (output log)
Note 3: This issue dont happen in second monitor with the same condicions (windown maximaxed and auto-hide of taskbar on)
Note 4: This issue dont happen when has another windown is open from editor and not docked, like a Blueprint Windown
Note 5: The second level of dropdown from menu do not cause the stuttering/laging just the first level
Note 6: High usage of CPU and Disk(SSD)
Note 7: There 2 posts unresolved with same issue but in UE 4

Theory: I think UE editor is ovelaping with the taskbar and the task bar is ovelaping the UE in a loop

PC:
Windows 11 Pro 22H2
Ryzen 5 5600x
RX 6800
32Gb Ram
UE installed in SSD
project created in HD
2 Monitors 144Hz

Hey there @Raky1! Welcome to the community!

This is definitely a weird combination windows/editor bug, I thought I had seen an issues thread for it before but the last one I saw was for UnrealEd (the level editor bundle) so not quite standard UE.

Similar issue looked into back last year but also not quite the same.

Running windows 10 I can’t replicate the issue (the editor reacts weirdly it’s by no mean lagging). I usually try and take a look into the source to see if a simple workaround would suffice but this is definitely going to need someone familiar with that interaction to be able to plan a fix.

Since there’s no current issue on this, would you like to submit an official bug report? When we get issues like this that aren’t reproducible everywhere it’s usually not much I can do this side but the team is definitely more capable!

1 Like