Square shadow follows player character

302376-ezgif-7-3569efac5ba8.gif

I have an issue when I launch a game with a first-person character, and it happens to all my projects! The problem is, that there always is a square shadow (sometimes other shapes) that follows the character somewhere on the ground. I’ve tried to make the character hidden in game, to uncheck the “cast shadow” box, to disable the interaction with raytracing but nothing works. I am quite new to Unreal Engine so there’s probably something I’m missing but I can’t figure out what it is. I’m running the software on a MacBook Pro 2018 with the macOS Catalina 10.15.4. I hope that someone out there has the answer! Thanks

It’s looking like you’ve tweaked the character and left a mesh in there.

To find out what it is, while playing just hit F8 to pop out of the player and take a look at what it is…

To fix it you need to edit the character again.

Thanks a lot for your answer! Unfortunately this also happens with pre-made blueprints like the default first-person shooter character. I’ve attached a short video of it with a totally “untouched” first-person shooter:

302358-ezgif-1-1cdc47a129ff.gif

Did you see anything when you came out of the character?

Does it defintely happen in new projects ( not new levels )?

Have you tried re-adding the FP content pack? ( NOTE this will overwrite any changes you made to the default character ):

302393-addnew.jpg

Did you try re-adding the 3rd person ( like above )?

I did - a couple of times even, but it didn’t work for me :confused:

I feel like it must be some kind of general setting since it’s on every project like this, right?

• Can’t see anything that shouldn’t be there when pressing f8, but the problem also only occurs when in launched mode, and I guess you can’t enter spectator mode when launched…(?)

• Unfortunately yes, it’s on every project…