Spline mesh component, draw calls and instancing

Hi, here’s some background for my main question:

I’m relatively new to UE and currently working on a mobile racing game. I chose using spline actors for building the track and its environment (fence, pillars, rocks on the roadside etc.). For the most part I used the methods described in this live training video.

Recently I started thinking about optimizations and pulled up some stats to check current state of one of my levels. What I’m trying to understand is:

1. Why stats window and “stat rhi” cmmand shows different values (screenshot)? Triangles count and Primitives draw calls differs too much.

2. The other question is instancing. I see that the stat window shows how many instances of a certain mesh is drawn. But the thing is that I’m using “Add Spline Mesh Component” in my BP, not “Add Instanced Static Mesh Component”, because it’s impossible to use for my needs. Does that still mean that the Spline Mesh Component is still being instanced even if it’s not described anywhere? I will be very happy if that’s so, I’m using Occlusion Culing and it works perfectly with the modular built track.

Would appreciate any answers, thanks!

The difference in calls tells you that you’re drawing a small ( ish ) number of very high poly meshes.

In the second table ‘instance’ doesn’t mean ‘static mesh instances’, it means ‘instances of this actor in the world’.

It’s looking like your main methods of reducing complexity are making the track model more low poly, and using LODs.

Hi, thanks for reply. Besides using further method of optimizations, like LODs, I’m trying to understand how the things work in UE, more specifically I’m exploring how the static meshes, which I add to my spline mesh component are beign drawn by the engine.