Some serious questions about UDK and UE4 from a desperate noob.

hello,
let me introduce myself before asking these questions, my name is , i’m 18 years old and i’m new to Unreal Engine(UDk, UE4), and pretty much everything in the content of using all these engines, i don’t have any skills in field and now i’ve come to a point in my life that i should make decisions that what i will do to my life, what carreer i want to follow, so i choose to follow the game design field, which it seems to be amazing, and now i’m starting to take classes of using the UDK/UE4, but when i saw that the price of the UE4 was $20 i said to me maybe i should try it out, and i liked way more the UE4 than the UDK, but i have two questions in case that are:

1º: am i too old to start to want to get in the game design field?
2º: if not, which engine should i start to use, UDK or UE4?

And most important of is because i’m not feeling that confident to start in carreer, i know that it takes a very long road to be a good designer,programmer,concept artist and so on, but i’m willing to take the risk of doing so, i just need people that can really give me advices of what should i do.

please if anyone see any gramatical problem, its because i’m not very good at english and i apologize for any mistake i’ve made.

1. definitely no when you have skills then you are never to old to start with game dev.
  2. I would recommend you to start with the UE4, because it offers you much more. You have access to the source code, blueprints and other amazing new stuff. And of course you can also just cancle your subscription after you have bought it so that you don’t waste your money when game dev. isn’t something for you :wink:

Why UE4:

-active community
-many tutorials -> even official ones from epic games
-many new features (blueprints, c++,…)
-in my opinion very easy to use :slight_smile:
-…

Why UDK:
-it’s for free
-there are already many tutorials about nearly everything