Some 3D artists oppinions and advice would be very appriciated

So basically im just messing around with maya trying to learn it to make game assets.
(no, i have tried max but the maya workflow stuck to me and its also a more ALL IN ONE softwere witht he animation tools)
I will also be doing a high poly mesh sculpted in zbrush from the low poly stuff.
Basically im just trying to make stuff for a viking times environment set and i would appriciate some advice on how to make models,model with texturing in mind,UVs and wether or not my models are too high poly to go straight intot he engine.
Posted some pics so guys please tell me what you think and what i am doing wrong. (self taught noob here) XD

Your models look nice, if those are the low poly versions, you could get rid of a bunch of loops there and they would still look good. The engine can handle a lot of polys but that depends on your whole project, if that’s all that’s going to be in the level it is more than ok.

Those meshes all look pretty solid. One thing to bear in mind, when trying to save on polys, is to delete faces that aren’t ever visible. Not only will it reduce your overall polycount, they won’t be taking up wasted space in your UV maps.

I’d definitely agree, for a base mesh, there’s certainly areas where some of that resolution / geometry could be optimized. If you’ll be taking them into zBrush, there’s really not much of a need to make them overly detailed in Maya. Just keep them relatively low poly in Maya, then bake out a map from the high-res version.

It’s typically advisable to keep things as optimized as possible. It’s a good rule of thumb. As an example, things like the bottom of your barrels. If the player isn’t going to see them then there’s no need for the faces at the bottom to be there. As such, they can be deleted.