Should I switch to Unreal?

Hello :slight_smile:

Currently I’m a Unity Pro Subscriber and I think about a switch to Unreal, because the Editor feels much more intuitiv to me and I like the concept of Blueprints.

For sure, Unity graphics getting much better and the new HDRP looks pretty good and is now comparable to Unreal graphics, but the workflow itself in Unity feels sometimes so… you know? :smiley:

So there are a lot of questions I’ve to ask to take my decision and maybe some people here can help me to find the answers :slight_smile:

If this is important: I’m working on an iMac Pro 3,2 GHz Intel Xeon W, 64GB, Vega64 w/ 16GB

CloudBuild
In Unity I’ve CloudBuild an online service that compiles the build in the cloud and sends me an email after it’s done with a link to download the build on my device (my main computer, my smartphone, whatever). Is there something comparable to that for Unreal?

Collaborate
Also in the Cloud there’s a service to synchronize my project to the cloud. Mainly to work with teammates together on the same project, but in my case I use it to have a online-backup/versioning. Is there something like that in Unreal or should I save the project locally to a folder which synchronize with maybe Dropbox, iCloud, etc?

Lightmap rendering
This is ■■■■ slow in Unity. How fast is it in Unreal? And is it possible to use a render-farm for it? Or does Lightmap rendering uses the GPU or multi-core/multi-threading?

Compiler
Does the compiler in Unreal uses multi-threading?

Multiplayer
There’s a new upcoming multiplayer-online-service for Unity in cooperation with Google Cloud, which is very nice and easy to setup. How is the workflow for building a multiplayer-online-game in Unreal? Is there a build-in system?

Assets