Sharing with you my workaround for Back Scattering on SSS Skin.

Hey guys,

As you know currently the skin shader in Unreal Doesn’t have Back scattering. So this is my method for a workaround, (Please note that i’m relatively still new to Unreal and I’m not a programmer) but coming from an animation/art background this is what I could do so far with the tools as i understood them in order to push our characters further.

I feel some of you guys out there can pitch in with better and more elegant ways of going about this, so please feel free to share any ideas you may have!

• I was hoping to avoid a rig-like setup in this case and just have a material setup with a proper mask, but i reached a dead end there since i couldn’t find a way to create a clean mask in the material alone that was facing the light direction without resorting to the sphere mask and this setup. I got close with another setup that includes pixelnormals and that worked overall but Pixelnormals created shadow cavities and that wasn’t working with what we are trying to achieve. If only there was a way to remove the cavities, that would’ve been a better setup IMHO.

*Gifs may take a bit to load, sorry.

Thanks.

Very cool trick! Thanks for sharing! :smiley:

Thanks !

Continuing with my little adventure on the side here. So basically the help I seek revolves around the general setup concerning minimizing the amount of elements required to achieve the correct mask for it.

Right now its faking it OK and we can live with it but the sphere mask setup is sort of an extra work that I would like to be avoided if possible, I am hoping someone out there can pitch an idea or two in order to do produce something close to the sphere mask results without the sphere mask.

To illustrate what I mean (including the pixelnormals i was looking into) I attached an image below for whoever is interested.

Yea a clean material solution would be nice :stuck_out_tongue: