Shadow artefacts indoors.

I’ve been getting consistent shadow artefacts indoors from the skylight, especially in areas with multiple lights.

It gets worse when rendering a sequence.

Heres a vid of the issue: Render with lumen lighting/shadow artifacts. - YouTube

It’d be great if anyone has any ideas about what could be causing this.

I’m very new to unreal, so please use small words :slight_smile:

When you say “skylight,” do you mean the object type, Skylight, in your scene or are you referring to the light that is coming from the sky?

What settings are you using?

So digging into the SunSky object, if I delete the DirectionalLight, the artefacts go away.

The light seems to penetrate through objects whenever there is too much lighting in a scene.

Turning off Virtual Shadow Maps solves the issue, but obviously leads to a worse looking result.

I’m not sure what settings would be relevant (as a noob), what settings would you like to see?

For settings, how many lights are in your scene, what are their settings, do you have a skylight, what are your project settings for lighting, etc.

I’m not an expert, but it’s usually best to start with the basics:

1. Lumen uses mesh distance fields which are generated based on import scale, which in turn is based on the real world scale of the object. So if your objects were very small to begin with and you scaled them up, you would need to adjust the mesh distance field resolution to match the new scale. You can check if this is the problem by using the mesh distance field visualizer under Show->Visualize->Mesh Distance Fields

2. Lumen itself uses real world scale to calculate its distances. The documentation gives an exact thickness that all walls should be to prevent light from leaking through. If your scene is too large or too small in real world scale, this can cause problems.