Shader Based Radar Simulation

Hi all,

I’m now trying to simulate a shader based imaging radar in a simulator for drones and cars (AirSim). In AirSim, the onboard perception sensors mainly are a camera actor with a few scene capture component with the post processing material being applied to get the final results (segmentation, depth…). And we would like to follow this flow to make the radar.
The current method I get from some radar simulation expert to do it in the fragment phase is as follows:

1. get the segmentation map, depth, normals from built-in camera component
  2. build meshes for seperate object in segmentation map
  3. computer radar response for each mesh using depth and normals
  4. store the radar response value(brightness) to 3D mesh at range-angle position, so at( azimuth, elevation, depth )
  5. do orthographic transformation to get the final 2D radar image.

I’m very new to unreal engine and I really have no idea how I could implement these steps in the a post processing material.
It would be super appreciated if anyone could help me! Thank you very much in advance.:cool:

Wow, that sounds quite involved for only a material. Not that it’s impossible, but a blueprint might help in constructing the final result. Try looking up a few of the basics of normals and depth, and also projecting from 3D to 2D, all in the material editor…such as functions and nodes that do those things. Even a comprehensive set of instructions on how to exactly do the whole thing would be too difficult for you to reproduce and understand from the get-go. I don’t think anyone in the forum is going to be capable of shooting the instruction set in a reply or two though. That’s basically asking them to do the work for you, and for free.

thanks for your suggestion. Actually to me it’s more like I don’t know which point I should cut in to implement these steps, e.g. should I write custom shader node, or these steps can actually be done just through the editor.