Setting HMD Orientation - Switching Pawns

Hello Devs,

I have been hitting my head against the wall for weeks now. I am working on a VR project which includes the ability to teleport. Switching from an exterior perspective of a vehicle to an interior one.

The problem I have been running into is all about the direction the player is looking, once their location is changed. No matter how I approach it, I cannot reliably set which direction the HMD will be facing in world space, once the player character is teleported. The player can teleport to inside the car’s interior at any point, which means they could be facing any direction when they press the teleport button. Because I cannot properly set the orientation, the player might be looking at the back of the seat, rather than the steering wheel.

I have approached this problem from dozens of angles but I am new to scripting VR so I have been relying on Blueprints. I was wondering if anyone has been able to set HMD orientation in world space with the use of blueprints.

Has anyone had any luck with teleportation?

-Vince

Simpanzee, I’ve been struggling with the same issue. I’ve also tried several different ways I’ve found in the answerhub to try and bypass this problem, but no luck yet. This problem happens on every kind of transition, in my case when changing levels.

Hopefully someone will know some way to help us, or maybe this might somehow be fixed on the upcoming 4.9 hotfix with 0.7 enhanced support.

p.s.: I think it’s useful to tell in my case I’m working on 4.8/4.9 with a Oculus DK2, sdk 0.6 (also tried on 0.7)

Glad to hear I’m not the only one! I’m currently working in 4.9 with various HMDs