'Select two or more material instances to perform this operation.'

Im using UE5

Now I tried to material blend.

I tried to select them on Bridge but it keeps saying ‘Select two or more material instances to perform this operation.’

I thought ‘okay now it doesn’t support Material instance’ so I turned them into ‘Material’ So I selected them on the tab of ‘Master Material Overrides’ but it keeps saying ‘Select two or more material instances to perform this operation.’ This is not a joke.

Am I missing something?

3 Likes

Hey, So I tested it right now, this is what I got.
You just select the materials, as you did, click on the Create Material Blend and a material will appear in the path you have set up there. Also I left those 3 places for materials empty.
This all being said, could you check if you have a BlendMaterials folder in your Game folder, and if so if there is something already there?

Hi, I am new to UE5. I have the same issue as Harkida1.

On my end, it won’t create the blend material directly when the surfaces have been selected. The same message will pop up.

I have to go to UE5. Select the downloaded materials both under UE5’s content browser, then go back back to the Quixel Bridge browser, click “Create Material Blend” and it will work.

Don’t know if it’s supposed to work this way. if not, hope this will help to find the right solution.

3 Likes

Thanks to you, i solved it

2 Likes

Nothing more infuriating than someone replying “I solved it” without saying how. Come on brother, help us out here, I’m having the same issue and have no idea why it’s not working.

9 Likes

Hi, find and Select your materials (2 - 3 (you can use filter for isntances) ) in your content browser in UE instead of Bridge window.
jump in bridge window and hit blend material window and hit Create Material Blend.