Sculpt Metahuman Face on Blender, then import back for livelink

Hi there,

First of all, apologize if this has been asked before but I can’t seem to find a similar thread to the specific question. If there’s a duplicate I will remove the post.

I am new to Unreal Engine and been experimenting with metahuman, especially customizing it beyond the website, through 3D software that I’m familiar with, Blender.

UPDATES

Managed to get it working thanks to thehemsley

Here are the steps:

1. Do the metahuman, download on quixel, import on unreal, export the FBX of face
  2. Convert the FBX with Autodesk FBX converter to fix the shape keys. DOWNLOAD HERE I used FBX 2013.3 Converter for Windows 64-bit
  3. Import to Blender and make sure the shape keys are there. Sculpt it, with minimal damage to the weight paint so don’t add faces
  4. Rotate the armature mesh 90 degrees so it faces the ground
  5. Export to FBX with some settings

Under Transform: -Z Forward, Y Up, Check Apply Unit, Use Space Transform
    Under Geometry, Unchecked Apply Modifiers

6. On Unreal, make sure you duplicate the project file
  7. Go to your Metahuman Blueprint, find the FaceMesh mesh
  8. Click Reimport Base Mesh with New File and find the object
  9. Double check if your animation blueprint is correct, it should be Face_AnimeBP_C
  10. Make sure your Live Link is setup and it should be good!

OLD CASE
I was so happy that I wanted to improve more of the face mesh to make it more like the model I want however, down the line I messed up and TL;DR, the project file is messed up, all the bones become missing and the mesh were all over the place.

Since then I have been trying to re-do it. Here’s what I have tried so far and where I have left off.

1. Do the metahuman, download on quixel, import on unreal, export the FBX of face
  2. Convert the FBX with Autodesk FBX converter to fix the shape keys
  3. Import to Blender with shape keys, sculpt it, with minimal damage to the weight paint