Rotate component in it's local space toward a point in world

Hi.
I apologize for the hackneyed question, but I couldn’t find the answer on the forum.
I’m making a tank.
Simple hierarchy: Body → tower → cannon.
A little stuck on the aiming system.

I’m doing a linetrace from the screen to the world. A hit position appears in the world. I need the tower to rotate to this point around its local Z axis, and the gun along Y;

A static turret is very easy to implement, since I can use world coordinates, but here I need to rotate this components relative to the body of the tank, since when moving on inclined surfaces, the rotation is incorrect if I use world coordinates.

If possible, an example in C++ would be very helpful, since I’m not very good at blueprints…

I’m assuming you would use the same setup in CPP as BP, which would be ‘look at rotation’. But for this to work, your gun needs to point along the local X axis.

Yes, I see that “FindLookAtRotation” simply subtracts the “start” and “target” vectors to find the direction.
What should I do with this direction then?)

That’s the direction you point the turret, but only Z

( sorry for the BP, I don’t ‘do’ CPP :slight_smile: )

But like I say, this node will point the forward vector of the component at the location, so you need the pivot to be setup correctly.

In C++ it looks something like this, but unfortunately it doesn’t work. The turret rotates to the desired point only if the tank itself is pointed towards the world X axis. When the tank rotates 90 degrees, the turret also looks to the target direction in the direction, but with + or - 90 degrees and so on…(

Notice a rotator is returned from the node. Does it really just subtract one vector from the other?

( I don’t have the source )

Yes, indeed… It returns “FRotationMatrix”) I’ll see what i can do with this matrix)

1 Like

Gimme a minute… :slight_smile:

So I have a target actor in the world, and this code

lookat