Rollover mouse/gun aimer to show widget BP

Hi Guys,

Hopefully, someone could help me out with this.

I’m looking to show a pop-up text (widget BP) by rolling the mouse/gun aimer over an object.
What I have got so far, its a pop-up text by clicking the middle button of the mouse. I really have no clue how to do it on roll-over.

I appreciate if anybody could guide me a bit.

Thanks in advance

Hi, you could use a timer and check every “time” wether or not your mouse cursor hits your target.

And I would create the widget only once and save it into a variable, and then add it to the viewport when necessary (else you will create numerous widgets) and remove it from the viewport when not necessary. And if you want to check for a hit under your mouse, theres a node called “Get Hit Result Under Cursor by Channel” (you may have to deactivate “Context Sensitive” for the search)

Hi, thanks for the reply.
I have tried but I still don’t understand how to do it. Sorry, I’m quite new with blueprints.

Would it be possible for you to explain a bit more or show me how to actually link these nodes?

thanks in advance

Sure, create a new character blueprint (right click in the conten browser → Blueprint Class → Character). Add a camera (in viewport “+ Add Component” → type camera). Then build these nodes in the event graphs of the character.

In the graph “Show Mouse Cursor” is set to true so you will see the cursor. “Dummy Widget Own” should be your text widget. That’s the widget I used.

Its important that you set “Is Variable” to True in your text (this will enable you to change the text in your blueprint).

This setup will spawn the popup text on any actor that you’re mouse hovers over. The location were it will be spawned will be the location of the component of the actor you’re hover the mouse over (projected onto the screen).