Rim Lighting?

So, I am new to this engine and figured I would try my hands at creating some effects for planets. The tutorials I have gone through so far have been helpful but i have found nothing that explains how I might add in some rim lighting. Maybe rim lighting is not what is needed at all and I am more or less over thinking this.

What are you trying to do riuthamus?
Well, long story short I want to make the atmosphere that surrounds planets. I was hoping to make this a material so that I could modify values on the fly to make some unique looking planets.

Do you have an example of what you want?
yep, look at the linked images below to see what I am trying to accomplish.

00b6a08a8017f51a2f2080edafb810ca0b4fe8d4.jpeg

Any help or thoughts on how this could be achieved would be greatly appreciated.

This has been discussed before on the forums. This post may be helpful.

https://forums.unrealengine.com/showthread.php?10215-Planetary-atmosphere-shader

With the help of a guy on YouTube I managed to get a nice result, though my approach is mega-overkill for most situations I need a lot of control for fast iteration times, as I’m working for insanely high-level graphics. I can’t share my shader network because it’s for a commercial project but I can tell you roughly what I’m doing.

ac3b0a1402e040f2297879e34b67f3b9774a8e27.jpeg
02e1c6b4421acb98853f5c63fd09f82c78cf2059.jpeg