Resources to learn about Vector/Coordinate Expressions in Unreal/Material Editor

Hello guys,

the titles may sound a little bit weird but i try my best to explain what i mean. Also consider that i am fairly new to Unreal. I have spend the past few weeks really getting into it and its really great
and i have started doing a lot of FX related stuff ever since i watched the Advanced FX Masterclass from EAT 3D!

To learn i just followed along with the DVD achieving some good results and then went in back to really figure out what is going on. While this is pretty easy for the general math and how the instructor combines things - i run into a lot of issues and cannot really understand why the instructor does something as soon as the mentioned coordinate/vector expressions are used (like World Position, Object Position, Camera Position, View Size, etc.)

This are some of the expressions(nodes) that are used through out the DVD. While i get their function as a single node, it is extremely hard to find out what the author is doing when he does stuff like subtracting the World Position by the Object Position for example.
Or transforming the world position into local space and then performing some math on it.

I know that he is of couse doing these things to get a desired effect.

So my goal is not to find out about these specific scenarios. Since i am sure these are just a few out of many - id rather wish some one would know a good resource to learn about this stuff. I already bought the 3D Math Primer and i am also doing a lot of trigonometry and similar subjects on Khan Academy but honestly i think. The topics discussed in those course are more advanced or spedific, that they dont really apply to what is going on in that DVD. (great resources nonetheless!)

So, especially if someone has seen the DVD, if you could guide me to some good website,books,dvds, that go into these topics it would be awesome!