Replicate Character Rotation between Client and Server

Hey Guys

I’m struggling a bit with getting the replication to function correctly between my client and server. At first I used the “Pawn” class for my custom class but soon found out that the movement doesn’t replicate, so you’ll have to create you own replication code. I got it working but not 100% correctly. I then switched to using a “Character” class as the movement component already had replication and network smoothing build in. The problem I have now is that my movement is replicated correctly over the network but not the rotation. The rotation is correct on the client, but it’s not being replicated onto the server.

Does the “Character” class not replicate rotation ? Can anybody help me in getting the rotation to replicate ? Also. Does the "network proxy ( ie. the clone of your pawn on the server) " of your pawn not have a controller ? I’m very new to all of this so still trying to get my head around it.

Thanks
A

Replication works in opposite way - variables from server replicates on client. For sending data to server you need RPC.

If you’re using simpleMoveToLocation or even moveTo then you right - it doesn’t replicates correctly. If you move/rotate a pawn by yourself, you can hold location/rotation variables, make them replicatable and on the client you’ll have correct values.

But at the moment I’m not calling the MoveForward or MoveRight functions only on the server. I haven’t specified any UPROPERTY() for those. So how do they then replicate but not the rotation ?

I’m using “AddMovementInput” for the forward/right movement and “AddControllerYawInput” and pitchinput for the rotation.