Rendering a prop - how do I set up IBL?

Hi, I have been reworking an old prop of mine:

http://i275.photobucket.com/albums/jj314/scottmichael28/21-1.jpg

… now that I have Unreal 4. However, as this is literally me simply downloading it, checking out a couple things, watching a few videos and moving forward … I’m not very knowledgable yet on using the editor to get any sort of advanced rendering. I had used UDK before, did a cube map once but with weak results. I’ve worked my materials to the point that I feel it needs to be taken beyond the default setup, have some IBL in there to get some interesting reflections going on to really sell the material. I’m an environment artist simply trying to put a portfolio piece together. My biggest concern is about reflections. While there is plenty of documentation to read about, I’m not seeing much in terms of tutorials. I get much of the theory (as far as I know) but not the node set up, and what to put into what channel, etc. Any help on this matter would be much appreciated. Whether technical or even artistic advise about what the door needs to look better, either way. Thanks.

If you’re wanting a good overview of reflections through materials a good place to start would be with our information on Physically Based Materials. This is a good source for the basics of the material attributes. There are sliders below some of the material attributes such as roughness, metallic, and specular to give you and idea of how to handle though for your material. The areas you’ll probably want to focus with your material on are those to get the results you’re looking for out the gate. :slight_smile:

You can also check out a lot of our material setups in Content Examples project from Marketplace > Open Map > any of the Materials Maps and Reflections maps.