Randomly Generated Rolling Terrain

Hi,

This may be something very simple, but I am a total novice to game development AND UE4.

I’m working on a skill-based mobile game that will require randomly generated terrain to avoid. In theory the terrain should be bound by a set of “standard” min-max height values with a sine wave shape; but occasionally throw in an “abnormal” large mountain to avoid. I’m starting with the Sidescroller Blueprint (3D assets with a 2D viewport) and I’ll be keeping the floating player in a box as the randomly terrain is generated on the right side off-screen and moves to the left. And I just feel the need to make this clear… there are no flying animals that dodge pipes in this game, or even close to that gameplay mechanic.

Can someone help me get started?

In case this matters: I have a gameplay concept where the character picks up a power-up that allows you to drill through the mountain. is this type of Worms-esque destruction possible with UE4?

Thank you,
Sanborn

Possible? Impossible?

What your wanting to do is possible in UE4 but with just BP? I dunno.

There are a two threads in this forum based on Procedural Generation for terrain. I think this is what you are looking for? However, those threads are working on a tile based system, and to create seamless generation is another layer of complexity on that tile-based logic.

Map Generator- Please Critique! - Blueprint Visual Scripting - Unreal Engine Forums!
Procedurally Generated Map Lag - Blueprint Visual Scripting - Unreal Engine Forums

Quite possible. Not trivial but also not hard at all.

For start do not try to make endless runner game, this is unnecessary layer of complication for prototype. You can add it later.