Race loops suddenly stop running, function becomes unresponsive

I am very new to this kind of programming, and I’ve written a bit of a convoluted game that has started producing a bug that I cannot seem to resolve. I have rewritten this code many times in different ways, and I had the same issue without using a race expression. This latest iteration is just another attempt at avoiding this bug.

To keep my game organized, I have several verse creative devices that function as “managers” for different game mechanics. I have a Player Manager and an Enemy Manager. I have a function in my Player Manager called Stun, which I call from my Enemy Manager when the enemy damages the player. The Stun function needed to be publicly available, so it is in a public module sitting alongside my creative device module within the same verse file. The creative device module sets up editables for my VFX prop assets and assigns them to a weak_map session variable. When I call the Stun function, it starts by referencing some weak_map session variables: PlayerStunned = weak_map(session, [fort_character]logic), ResetPlayerStun = weak_map(session, [fort_character]logic) and VFXProp = weak_map(session, creative_prop_asset). Throughout the function, I pull references to these variables several times and sometimes set new values to them when needed.

Here is a simplified version of my function:

Stun(PlayerCharacter)
    if PlayerStunned is true
        Set ResetPlayerStun to true
        Exit function
    else
        Set PlayerStunned to true
        Initialize TimeRemaining to 3.0
        Spawn StunVFX at the PlayerCharacter location
        Put PlayerCharacter in stasis
        loop
            Sleep(0.2)
            race
                block
                    loop
                        if TimeRemaining < 0.2
                            Set StunCompleted to true
                            Break loop
                        else
                            if PlayerCharacter moved