Questions about Light Maps

Hi guys, this is my first attempt to do light maps, I’ve read epic docs about it and made a couple researches and learn some rules and techniques to do such thing, but I still have some questions.

1 - My model has multiple UV sets for textures, can I also do multiple UV sets for light maps ??

2 - Can I have massive distortions on that UVs without any poor results ??

3 - I’ve read that low resolution light maps is more for modulate assets that will be repeatedly placed on level, so can I do light map resolution 512x512 or 1024 or even 2048 for assets that is going to be place just once ??

4 - Again about distortions, following the rules I should leave this part of my object all together, but doing so will result on a massive result, is that correct ?? If no, what would be a alternative for that exemple ??

An automatic light map generated by Unreal I get some issues, I think I can handle with the rest of object, but this very part I am not sure and have no idea what to do

You get best lightmap results if you do UV’s by hand, and you keep the amount of seams and the UV islands as few as possible. When you do that, you can usually lower the resolution of the lightmap and still get good results because it makes better use of the UV space.

You want to avoid stretching otherwise the pixels can get distorted, it’s not entirely avoidable but you want to minimize it as much as possible.

You can only use one UV channel for lightmaps.

Thank you for your reply, i’m a little confused about what you said of few UV island as possible, because if for normal maps accuracy must be split at every hard edge and for light map for every corner naturally you will have more UV Island on your Light Map UV, in this very case combining 5 UV sets into one I will have a lot Islands, I will do that work and see what happens, but that part of picture one I dont know how to split, I will try to cut the top when it becomes a rounded shape!!!