Question about programmers in the game industry and some good practices

Hello!

I wanna ask some questions about the position of programmers in the game industry, besides some good practices related do UI and widgets.

I’m graduated in CS and, for most of my professional life, I have worked as an standard software engineer , mostly with Java and C#, but I have an intermediate level when the subject is C++; I don’t know a bunch of advanced stuff, but, once presented to an topic, I learn relatively fast.

But I graduated recently in my Game Design course, and I’m a bit insecure about how good I must be as a programmer to enter the game industry as an junior developer.

You see, as an standard developer, one thing that I have learned in my career is that “no developer knows everything about a language, API, framework, etc.” (there is some exceptions…). So, how good you guys were when you entered in the game industry? What is the criteria to enter, besides good maths, relatively good programming skills,…?

Also, regarding to UI and widgets, I wanna ask if its a good practice to leave AHUD responsible to the management of menus (UMG), adding (in the BeginPlay())and removing (in the EndPlay()) them, changing some features, etc. while the PlayerController remains responsible to process the player inputs, calling the current HUD when necessary.

Any feedback will be greatly apreciated, because they will show me how much I need to learn, if I want to be a good game programmer/to enter in the game industry.

:slight_smile:

thank you for this insight into the professional UE world.
Best regards from a “hobbyist”

I’ve been in the industry (AAA) for 15+ years now, when I got in I had a BS in CS and still made a lot of silly mistakes. But what I was always told, and what I’ve come to find out as I hire junior engineers, is that attitude is everything. Anything else can be taught.

I can’t tell you how many candidates I’ve had to reject because they either: