Question about choosing VR equipment along with hardware required for fidelity and performance

Hello everyone, it was just recently that I started with UE - after a long break from 3d in general, and I have to say I am impressed with what I’ve seen so far. I am thinking of switching a career and I have in mind working with Arcvhiz VR in UE. I apologize for the long post, so hopefully you guys read it :slight_smile:

I have no VR experience - except trying PSVR once, which got me a bit dizzy - but I think it was due to wearing it incorrectly. Unfortunately, where I live, I don’t have any stores around me that showcase VR, nor do I know anyone that has one.

I know the theory - the resolution, the Hz, the screen door effect, the motion sickness effect - however, I am not really sure which one is the most important - I can only assume it all starts from high Hz, but then, what kind of system is required for it to run properly with all the bells and whistles? Obviously, when you are talking about archviz, you expect high polygons and high level of reflections, lighting, so we are talking ray tracing - I read that Lumen is not possible on VR. I also realize the cable problems, the screen door effects, etc

So, here are the questions I have:

• Which is considered the best VR at the moment and why? People that have experience with more than one VR device, please share the pros and cons and which one you ended up using! Mentions to specific devices to avoid and why are more than welcome.
  • Are Hz the most important factor to avoid motion sickness? Is it performance? How you wear the device? Can a VR helmet be comfortable enough so that it doesn’t cause motion sickness at all? Assuming I end up doing VR archviz, obviously I want the VR to showcase the work, not for personal use, so how can you make a random person feel comfortable?