Quad buffer stereo and using separate render targets

Hi everyone!

I am relatively new to Unreal and am trying to write a plugin that enables quad buffer stereo rendering.
So far I have been looking at the Documentation, Engine Source and the HMD Plugins and after some experimenting it seems that it should not be hard (I am using OpenGL since I work mostly on Linux and Unreal 4.18).
I got the quad buffer stereo rendering itself to work. By that I mean that I can copy images into the back_left and back_right buffer and swap accordingly (using a custom present). So the basic output is there.
In order to copy to the left and right backbuffer, I first have to render two separate images (for left and right eye of course). My approach for this was to create a separate render target that is large enough to hold both images side-by-side and the copy the regions for the left and right eye into the corresponding backbuffers. However, I cannot get rendering into the separate render target to work.

Here is what I did:
I implemented a custom StereoRenderingDevice (inheriting from IStereoRendering). This seems to work fine as far as I can tell.
The second step was to implement a custom RenderTargetManager (inheriting from FXRRenderTargetManager). As FXRRenderTargetManager provides most of the implementation already, this should be a really short class (all I want it to do at this point is to create my very own render target):
class StereoRenderTargetManager : public FXRRenderTargetManager
{
public:
bool ShouldUseSeparateRenderTarget(void) const override {return true;};
};

The last modification required should be in the StereoRenderingDevice class:
IStereoRenderTargetManager * GetRenderTargetManager() override {return pointer_to_stereo_render_target_manager_object;};