Projectile replication from UE5 FPS template

Hello,

I am very new to this and have been watching some guided tutorials on setting up a multiplayer FPS game. I am using the UE5 FPS template and am attempting to replicate projectiles so that the client projectiles show up on the server.

The UE5 template is set up with BP_FirstPersonCharacter, BP_FirstPersonProjectile and BP_Rifle where the character blueprints simply call the rifle blueprints as an “item”. I am not seeing this blueprint setup in any tutorials/guides I have found.

The most success I have had is following the solution here Using FPS Template, the Projectile is replicated from server to client the Clients aren't replicated back. However, adding those components to the BP-FirstPersonCharacter blueprint only allows the projectiles to shoot in the initial X direction that the weapon is set up at once the gun is picked up (you do not spawn with a gun in the FPS template), and the audio does not play. The gun behaves correctly from the server end so I did not want to mess with the other blueprints. Here’s what the base template looks like:

I really appreciate any help with this!

This template doesn’t seem fit for replication.

I don’t have UE5 atm so I took UE4 FPS template and made a basic replicated fire loop. Hopefully you can grasp the various aspect and adapt to your project.

The UE4 template doesn’t have a rifle class, so I put everything in character. It sounds definitely better to have such logic in rifle class, but it shouldn’t make a big difference overall.

So let’s start with input - we start a fire loop locally and tell server to start firing too.
The local fire loop will not spawn any projectiles, it will only play fire effects for the local player so there’s no apparent round-trip delay between click and visually firing.