project killing errors but no errors

I’m building a project heavely in c++ everything is going fine. the code is compiling in visual studio as well as the editor, everything is good. Somehow an error occurs. No problem I’ll just backtrack. There aren’t any mistakes, strange. I’ll revert the code to a previous accepted state. It still wont compile. I select use “last successful build” and make it back to the editor. but the output log also shows no errors, accept I’m getting a strange message: " No PDB file found for module UnrealEditor … Live coding will be disabled for this module"

And the project is dead. you might be thinking “well they must have missed a mistake”. I don’t think so, Im pretty certain. I’ve tried rebuilding the solution, I’ve tried rebuilding the project files, nothing works. I’ve been programming in unreal for 3 years and never had these issues and all the sudden they keep happening. am I going senile?

There’s not much info to go off of, when you say “an error occurs” what kind of error ? Also where it won’t compile, do we have any compilation errors ?

If you’re not using unreal from source try verifying the installation from the epic launcher see if it can fix any issues.

Another issue might be the MSVC version you’re using, latest UE5 recommends using a certain version I think it was 14.38

1 Like

No compilation errors, no errors that I can see? (I’m not formally educated in visual studio I might plumb miss some otherwise obvious diagnostics), just a popup window:

Screenshot 2024-10-18 202237

no errors in the output log when recompiling through the editor either. Previously for me the in editor recompiler has always caught every error, or if it slips by the recompiler it will crash the editor when I go to play the build. At which point I use breakpoints in VS to hunt down the error. I’ve never had errors like these, where they don’t show up in the in editor recompile, but cause VS to fail to compile.