Programming Subsystems - October 17 - Live from HQ

WHAT
Subsystems in Unreal Engine are automatically instanced classes with managed lifetimes. These classes provide easy to use extension points, where the programmers can get Blueprint and Python exposure right away while avoiding the complexity of modifying or overriding engine classes. This week, lead programmer Chris Gagnon will discuss what Subsystems are, how to use them, their benefits, and the considerations you should keep in mind.

WHEN
Thursday, October 17 @ 2:00PM ET - Countdown

WHERE
Twitch
Youtube

RESOURCES
Programming Subsystems Documentation
Project Files

WHO
Chris Gagnon - Lead Programmer, Editor
Victor Brodin - Community Manager - @victor1erp](http://twitter.com/victor1erp)

ARCHIVE
Programming Subsystems | Live from HQ | Inside Unreal - YouTube

2 Likes

Excellent choice for topic. Thank you!

why u make tutorial for total beginners?

Very kewl! Should be a good one.

@Bombaholic Epic actually does have free online training through their training portal via Unreal Online Learning - Unreal Engine

When and where the stream will be online to watch it when miss the live stream? I looked at twich and youtube but do not found it.

EDIT: I found it on twitch, but wondering why it has a completely different name :wink:

You can find the project files here: https://forums.unrealengine.com/unreal-engine/announcements-and-releases/asset-sharing/1678157

Thanks Victor and Chris - Useful - timely - good interchange - More like this on UE4 coding strategies

Chris Would it be possible for you to elaborate more on:

• how you differentiate these subsystems from say the Physics or rendering subsystems
  • what would be the most appropriate uses for these types of subsystems and
  • could you list the top subsystems that you would convert/refactor from BP or component implementations ?