Problem with shadow resolution

Hi everyone! I am having a problem, as the title say, with the shadows resolution.

Basically when I set the Lightmap resolution of the object shown in the image to 512 (but even 256 looks fine) in the actor menu, the shadow looks nice and sharp, as in the image on the right. Problem is, when I do the build of the lighting, even using the production settings, the shadows looks like in the image on the left.

&stc=1&d=1427985111

Probably that’s a noob problem, but I am a beginner with UE, so here I am asking! :slight_smile:

Thanks in advance for any help!

Can you post a screenshot of your lightmap UV as well?

Often when trying to troubleshoot where issues are coming up with Lighting, especially pre-computed (baked) lighting, it’s best to show the lightmap UV as well. Increasing the lightmap resolution to 512 doesn’t really explain the situation fully because the UV islands for your unwrap could be not utilizing this space very well, which means it will not get decent baked shadows for your mesh.

Also, any settings you’ve changed in your Directional Light Source would be helpful, or are you using the default settings?

Since you are new to UE4, please have a look at our Wiki Lighting Troubleshooting and Tips guide (linked below in my signature). This is made up of some of the common questions that are asked with lighting and how to resolve them.

Thanks for the super quick answer Tim!

Here are my 2 uv channels. The first one is for textures, and the second is the lightmap… I tried to use both of them, but the result is the same.

Meanwhile I will have a look at the wiki.

&stc=1&d=1427987413

When you change the lightmap resolution it goes back to preview shadows, once you build the lighting it shows the accurate results.