Pre-compiled Linux Unreal Engine installation

Hello everyone,

We now provide distribution-agnostic pre-compiled binaries of Unreal Engine for Linux, downloadable from the Unreal Engine website.

(need to be logged-in to access the files)

Looking forward to hearing your feedback !

16 Likes

Im not using Ubuntu, i’m using Manjaro
I get this error when i try to create the FPS and TPS projects in C++ mode

But it starts fine if i choose Blueprint

I’m very new to unreal

I’m missing some dependency?

An error occurred while trying to generate project files.

Running /home/user/Downloads/Unreal/Engine/Build/BatchFiles/Linux/Build.sh  -projectfiles -project="/home/user/Documents/Unreal Projects/MyProject2/MyProject2.uproject" -game -rocket -progress
Setting up bundled DotNet SDK
Running command : dotnet Engine/Binaries/DotNET/UnrealBuildTool/UnrealBuildTool.dll -projectfiles -project=/home/user/Documents/Unreal Projects/MyProject2/MyProject2.uproject -game -rocket -progress
Process terminated. Couldn't find a valid ICU package installed on the system. Set the configuration flag System.Globalization.Invariant to true if you want to run with no globalization support.
   at System.Environment.FailFast(System.String)
   at System.Globalization.GlobalizationMode.GetGlobalizationInvariantMode()
   at System.Globalization.GlobalizationMode..cctor()
   at System.Globalization.CultureData.CreateCultureWithInvariantData()
   at System.Globalization.CultureData.get_Invariant()
   at System.Globalization.CultureInfo..cctor()
   at System.StringComparer..cctor()
   at EpicGames.Core.CommandLineArguments..ctor(System.String[])
   at UnrealBuildTool.UnrealBuildTool.Main(System.String[])
/home/user/Downloads/Unreal/Engine/Build/BatchFiles/Linux/Build.sh: line 37: 265963 Aborted                 (core dumped) dotnet Engine/Binaries/DotNET/UnrealBuildTool/UnrealBuildTool.dll "$@"