Download

Poster Wrong Reflections

I’m relatively new to 3d. I’ve recently made my own asset (a framed poster), bump mapped it and place it into UE4. Pic related is the fault: on the side, where the frame is facing away from the poster, it is reflecting the poster. Can someone please tell me how to stop this and make it reflect correctly? I think it’s something to do with the mesh and not the engine. Is it reversed normals or something? As I said, I’m new.

UE4 Mesh.png

Guys, please help with this. I can’t solve it on my own.

Don’t have a solution for you but I want to ask if you tested reversing the normals, as you mentioned?

Yes, sorry, I should’ve mentioned. Reversing the normals did nothing.

Can you see what I’m talking about? On the side of the black frame, like a giant tear?

This might be the UV issue, check your model uv, maybe UV for frame is stretched or has some issues.

Hi again. Sorry about the late reply. Yes, I have checked the UVs. The problem does not appear to occur in Maya when applying a texture to it. Here is a snapshot of the UVs:

7f816b03b52dc7e5fc6082982f4f03718657bff6.jpeg

Has nobody encountered anything like this before?

How does the lightmap UVs look like?
If you use the same as above, the padding might be a bit tight for the right island (top/bottom)

I don’t think it’s lightmaps or anything, just make sure your reflection probes are positioned correctly. If you’re using a normal map make sure you imported it with correct compression settings.

Just thought it might be worth a try. Sometimes I get exactly that kind of dark wedges if an island is not aligned with UV texels or has too slim padding…

Hi Aured,

There are a couple of things you can do here to get the best results for this. Unfortunately though, at certain viewing angles parts of the reflection are going to carry over.