Point cloud : Importing real world into UE with terrestrial 3D SCAN

Hello,

My name is Jean-Yves and I’m a surveyor; I’m new to UE.
I’d like to creat 3D animation for professional purpose based on real world.
For instance, I have point cloud created in a stone-pit from our terrestrial 3D SCAN.
Now, I’d like to import it into UE as a Landscape.
It seems that UE needs two raster files :

• 16-bit PNG (elevation grid)
  • raster to “paint” the mesh

I have no idea how to creat these two raster files.

Have a nice day and thanks in advance for your Help

JY

I do not know if this will cover everything, but I attempted something along the lines of what you are asking and worked out a kind of pipeline. Very briefly, it was:

GlobalMapper:
First, I accessed this course on Gnomon Workshop, which introduced me to GlobalMapper, which is pricey, but you may already have it is you are a professional surveyer. Also, every so often they have a new version that gives you a ten day trial, so you can work with your data there.

The first 5 parts of Volume 1 (I didn;t need the parts about Maya) were particularly helpful in familiarizing me with how to export hi-res geographic LIDAR scans and .LAS into heightmaps and color rasters of selected geography.

I then discovered QuadSpinner Gaea, which was (for me) a simpler and more user friendly competitor to World Machine. A node based tool for visualizing terrain exporting terrain PNGs

This allowed me to visualize the height data, as well as to do other things that may be beyond the scope of what you’re asking, but if you look at the links you’ll get the idea.

Then I did this “Gaea to Unreal” course to understand how Gaea works with Unreal’s landscaping system:

Try looking at those options, and maybe that will help.

1 Like

Dear OOGHE,

Thank you very much for your answer and advice.
It’s very helpfull. I’ll have a look specialy on QuadSpinner.

Best regards.

JY

1 Like

Yes, Quadspinner Gaea was very helpful.